So far…..

Well then 2019.

Been alittle tricky so far. Broken van, no work, lack of funding. That being said, it’s sometimes too easy to focus on the hardships and not see how good you may have it. And by you, I clearly mean I! 

So I have a great Collection of friends, the ability to actually make lots of money. Oh and most importantly I have my cycling. Which over and above is getting better and better. I was listening to an interesting podcast the other day. Which was talking about how important it might be for someone of my mental persuasion to focus on one thing. To push hard and make myself an expert, or at least make concerted efforts at one thing. As I am a highly creative wide ranging thinker. That means I’m full of ideas, have thoughts that anything can be achieved. However don’t start things as the next thing could become the thing. The concept shared was one of, pick one thing and work on that. Then at least you’ll be working towards something. Rather than not doing anything towards anything. 

So with that said I am going to focus on my riding. Which is a good thing, as later in the year I am doing a race across the Pyrenees! 29th of June my good friend Ben and I are racing as a pair the Trans Pyrenees. A unsupported bike packing race. Cover the length and heights of the that famed mountain range. It’s 950km in length with a monumental 24,000 vertical metres of climbing. Sounds bad enough out like that, it however gets worse, there are only 6 days to achieve it! 

It averages out like this. 

160km and 4000m per day. 

That’s a big ride one day let alone for 6 days in a row. At the moment I will admit it feels as though we may have bitten off more than we can chew. Alas, I am as stubborn as I am stupid so I’m sure I’ll be able to manage this mad ride. Whether we make it out the other side sane men is a totally different story. 

So that’s it. My one plan, the thing to focus on for the next few months. Maybe it might make me fitter and stronger on the bike. If I’m lucky, with the building skill set I might unlock other doors. Or perhaps I might just go crazy in the process. As per usual, only time will tell. 

Anyway I am going for a ride!

Leave a comment